Thou shalt not eat Foie Gras

A friend of mine, that is taking a chef class,  told me about a debate that’s been going on in the gastronomical world about foie gras.

I’ve had “pate de foie gras” just once and i can’t say i loved it, but I can’t say I hated it either. That was until now!

“Foie Gras” is the liver of a duck or goose that has been specially fattened. In other words: in order to make the pate creamy and white, the liver needs to be fat, and to obtain that level of fat they force feed the poor birds with boiled corn.

Many organisations ( including PETA) and renown chefs are fighting to stop this atrocious behaviour. The other sad news is that by the time the liver is used for different gourmet recipes, it is already sick because of all that fat. So what we get is a delicacy obtained out of sick liver that has fantasy prices.

Now I am not an animal rights activist, but the idea that we pay and eat a product that is made out of sick liver…… Bleah!

PS. I found pictures of the poor animals and how they are force-fed, but they are so disturbing and I chose not to post them. Feel free to  google them.

Remember to always stay informed!

Love Aleena

3 Comments Add yours

  1. modellenwerk says:

    It’s a nice blog you have over here! It’s very usefull information for me and I just want to thank you for that! If you post more threads as this one, I’ll follow your blog active!

  2. Fantastic goods from you, man. Thou shalt not eat Foie Gras Learn Something New Every Day I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a tremendous Thou shalt not eat Foie Gras Learn Something New Every Day informations.

  3. It’s hard to come by educated people about this
    subject, however, you sound like you know what
    you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

