Geeks that changed the world!

I was watching “Who wants to be a millionaire” the other night and suddenly le  wild question appears : “Who said: We live in the best of all possible worlds?”

A.  Kant, B. Leibniz, C. Nietzsche, D. Traian Basescu ( president of Romania).

I had no idea what was the correct answer! I know a bit about Kant  and Nietzsche, and Mr. President is out of the question, but about Leibniz all I knew is that it’s a cookies brand that I like. 😀

And here they are:

You know them too, right?

The correct answer was Leibniz and here’s what I’ve learned about him:

1. He was a mathematician and philosopher

2.He developed the infinitesimal independently of Isaac Newton.

3.He invented the Leibniz wheel the first mass-produced mechanical calculator.

leibniz wheel

4.  He also refined the binary numbers system, which is at the foundation of virtually all computers.

5.His Full name is Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz.

csm_LeibnizKopf1_2__e36d0cf240

6. He believed that ” we live in the best of al possible worlds”. I could disagree, but maybe he knew something i don’t.

After finding out this information and having some delicious cookies named after him I would say the man is pretty cool.

Remember to always stay informed!

Love Aleena

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Bert Auther says:

    I just like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am moderately sure I’ll be informed plenty of new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

  2. I really like your writing style, good information, appreciate it for posting : D.

  3. I believe that is among the most vital info for me. And i’m happy reading your article. But want to remark on some basic things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is in point of fact nice :D. Just right task, cheers.

Leave a Reply

